Search Job Archive

Friday, April 17, 2015

[CHILD-YA] Call for Applications for the Public Library of the Year Award

Dear colleagues,
Please find below a message from the general IFLA mailing list, that may be of interest to many of you.
Even if you do not apply for the Award, it is very interesting to read about the Model Programme for Public Libraries.
V. Quiñones

Good Afternoon

The hunt is once again on to discover the world's best public library. In 2015, the Danish Agency for Culture will again have the honour of presenting the Systematic Public Library of the Year Award
sponsored by Systematic with prize$US 5,000.

Applications close on 15 June 2015.

The prize will be awarded to a library that has been newly constructed or designed for a building that has not previously been used as a library during the period 1 January 2013 through 15 June 2015, and which meets the criteria for the Model Programme for Public Libraries:

The library must take into consideration digital developments and local culture. It must welcome a diversity of population groups with an open and functional architectural expression in balance with its surroundings and a creative use of IT to improve user experiences.

The Award will be presented at the IFLA World Library and Information Congress in Cape Town, South Africa on 16 August in cooperation with the IFLA´s Public Libraries Section.

The prize was first awarded in 2014 by the Danish Agency for Culture in partnership with architectural firm schmidt hammer lassen and won by Craigieburn Library, Hume City, Victoria. Come on Australia, let's bring the Award home again!!!!

Ms Jan Richards
Secretary/ Information Coordinator IFLA Public Libraries Section
e | w
ph 61263938126| fax 61263938100| mobile 61418234827

No comments:

Post a Comment